Yankees release travel roster to Panama

03/13/2014 5:13 PM ET
By staff

Derek Jeter will be among the Yankees players making the trip to Panama this weekend.(AP)
The New York Yankees have officially announced their travel roster for the Legends Series in Panama, and 28 players are headed to Panama City for this weekend's two-game set with the Miami Marlins.

The players are:

RHPs Bruce Billings, Robert Coello, Preston Claiborne, Matt Daley, Chris Leroux, Jim Miller, David Robertson, Yoshinori Tateyama, Adam Warren and Chase Whitley; LHPs Cesar Cabral and CC Sabathia; catchers Francisco Cervelli, Jose Gil, John Ryan Murphy, and Gary Sanchez; infielders Dean Anna, Derek Jeter, Corban Joseph, Jose Pirela, Yangervis Solarte, and Zelous Wheeler; and outfielders Zoilo Almonte, Carlos Beltran, Adonis Garcia, Brett Gardner, Antoan Richardson, and Alfonso Soriano.

Joe Girardi will manage the team in Panama, with bench coach Tony Pena, hitting coach Kevin Long, guest instructor Willie Randolph, and minor-league coaches Scott Aldred, Luis Sojo, and Julio Mosquera making the trip as well.

As the Yankees are the "home" team, the designated hitter will be used for the series, with Girardi saying Thursday that Derek Jeter will play in both games and serve as the DH one of the days.

Third base coach Rob Thomson will assume the managerial role for the Yankees who stay stateside; he will be at the helm for three games: Friday against the Twins in Tampa, Saturday against the Orioles in Sarasota, and Sunday against the Braves back in Tampa.


Follow YES Network on Twitter @YESNetwork for more. comments