Lou Gehrig's grand quest begins

07/23/2013 7:02 PM ET
By Mike Tanowitz

Lou Gehrig hit 493 regular-season home runs during his Major League career.(AP)
On July 23, 1925, Yankees legend Lou Gehrig blasted the first of his Major League-record 23 grand slams.

Gehrig's record-setting quest began against Washington Senators pitcher Firpo Marberry in the seventh inning that day. The shot was also Gehrig's second home run of the game.

Fourteen years later, on Aug. 20, 1938, the Iron Horse hit is final grand slam, tallying 23 for his career.

Gehrig stood alone in the record book for 74 years until fellow Yankee Alex Rodriguez tied his mark on June 12, 2012. The two sluggers remain tied atop the list.

Career grand slam leaders:
Lou Gehrig 23
Alex Rodriguez 23
Manny Ramirez 21
Eddie Murray 19
Willie McCovey 18
Robin Ventura 18
Carlos Lee 17
Jimmie Foxx 17
Ted Williams 17
Hank Aaron 16
Dave Kingman 16
Babe Ruth 16
Ken Griffey, Jr. 15
Richie Sexson 15
Jason Giambi 14
Gil Hodges 14
Mark McGwire 14
Mike Piazza 14
Follow YES Network on Twitter @YESNetwork for more. comments