Three Giants, two Jets named to Pro Bowl

12/26/2012 9:48 PM ET
By Lou DiPietro

Jason Pierre-Paul was named to his second straight Pro Bowl on Wednesday.(AP)
The NFL’s Pro Bowl will go on this year, and a quintet of New York players are headed to the Jan. 27 exhibition in Honolulu.

For the Giants, wide receiver Victor Cruz, guard Chris Snee, and defensive end Jason Pierre-Paul are headed to Hawaii, where they will square off against a pair of players from the Jets secondary: cornerback Antonio Cromartie and strong safery LaRon Landry.

Pierre-Paul, the lone player among the five voted in as a starter, was named to his second straight Pro Bowl on the heels of a season that has seen him rack up 61 tackles, 6.5 sacks, five passes defensed, and one interception. Despite it being his second nod, however, a trip to Honolulu would be his first in reality, as he was removed from last year’s game due to the Giants’ run to the Super Bowl.

He will be joined by first-time Pro Bowler Cruz, who has 82 catches for 1,040 yards and nine touchdowns so far this season, and Snee, who is headed to his fourth Pro Bowl in the last five years.

Pierre-Paul will join Chicago’s Julius Peppers, San Francisco’s Justin Smith, and Chicago’s Henry Melton on the NFC starting line, while Cruz will team with Detroit’s Calvin Johnson, Chicago’s Brandon Marshall, and Atlanta’s Julio Jones in the receiving corps and Snee will back up starting guards Jahri Evans of the Saints and Mike Iupati of the 49ers.

As for the Jets, both of their secondary players will be reserves. Cromartie, who is headed to his second Pro Bowl, has 33 tackles, 13 passes defensed, three interceptions, and a touchdown this season, while Landry, a first-time Pro Bowler, has 95 tackles, seven passes defensed, two interceptions, four forced fumbles, and one touchdown so far in 2012. Cromartie will be the AFC’s third corner behind Denver’s Champ Bailey and Houston’s Jonathan Joseph, while Landry is the third safety behind Baltimore’s Ed Reed and Denver’s Eric Berry.

Elsewhere on the Pro Bowl squads, San Francisco led the way with nine total Pro Bowlers (including seven starters), while Houston’s eight nods led the AFC. The NFC East has five other players – two from Dallas and three from Washington, including rookie quarterback Robert Griffin III – while the AFC East has eight other players on their conference’s squad: seven New England Patriots (including stalwarts Tom Brady, Wes Welker, and Rob Gronkowski) and Miami defensive end Cameron Wake.

No players from the Buffalo Bills or Philadelphia Eagles were selected, making them two of the eight teams shut out of the festivities.

You can view the full Pro Bowl rosters, including positional and team breakdowns, here courtesy of

Follow Lou DiPietro on Twitter: @LouDiPietroYES comments