Big East sets 2013-14 football divisions

11/13/2012 4:40 PM ET
By Lou DiPietro
The Big East has set its football divisions for the 2013 and 2014 seasons, and the two Tri-State area teams will be together with most of the rest of the current Big East.

Rutgers and Connecticut will be paired in the East Division with fellow current members Cincinnati, Louisville, and South Florida and pending all-sports newcomer Central Florida, while the West Division will contain the other five pending additions – Memphis, Houston, SMU, and football-only additions Boise State and San Diego State – and Temple, who re-joined the league in football this year and will be a full conference member in 2013-14.

According to Big East Commissioner Mike Aresco, the league was broken into divisions based on a combination of rivalries and geography, the latter of which likely being the reason why UCF is in a division with their in-state rivals instead of Temple joining the remaining holdovers.

“This new alignment gives the Conference and its fans the best of both worlds – national exposure that is a result of the Big East being in six of the top 10 U.S. media markets – with a schedule that focuses on spirited regional rivalries,” Aresco said in a press release announcing the approval of the split.

Effective in 2013, the winners of East and West Divisions will face off in the Big East Championship Game, to be played at the home of the higher-ranked team.

“This unique combination of nationwide scope and regional flavor reflects our commitment to innovation in response to the changing landscape in college football, while honoring a tradition of success on the field and in the classroom,” Aresco said.

The divisions as is will only last for those two seasons; Navy is set to join the Big East in football in 2015, and with the Big East also actively pursuing a 14th member, Aresco said the alignments could be revised for the 2015 season.

Follow Lou DiPietro on Twitter: @LouDiPietroYES comments