Teixeira, Cano win AL Gold Glove Awards

10/30/2012 10:43 PM ET
By Lou DiPietro

Robinson Cano led all AL second basemen with 726 chances in 2012, and made just six errors.(AP)
New York Yankees first baseman Mark Teixeira and second baseman Robinson Cano were named American League Gold Glove Award winners on Tuesday night, adding two more pieces of hardware to an already-packed infield trophy case.

Teixeira led qualifying Major League first basemen with a career-best .999 fielding percentage – surpassing Don Mattingly’s franchise record mark of .998 set in 1994 – and committed just one error in 1,055 total chances during the season.

He beat out 2011 winner Adrian Gonzalez of Boston and Kansas City’s Eric Hosmer to win his fifth Gold Glove, adding to previous awards he had won with Texas in 2005 and 2006 and with the Yankees in 2009 and 2010.

“I am honored to accept the Gold Glove Award and appreciate the recognition for my defense,” Teixeira said in a statement released by the Yankees. “There are a lot of great first basemen in the American League and I will continue to work hard to stay on top of my game defensively.”

Cano led who led all American League second basemen with 726 chances in 2012 and made just six errors, finishing second in the league with a .992 fielding percentage. He beat out 2011 winner Dustin Pedroia of Boston and Seattle’s Dustin Ackley to win his second Gold Glove, with his previous win coming in 2010.

“It’s another dream come true for me. The Gold Glove is a special award because my defense is something I take a lot of pride in,” Cano said in the statement. “There are a lot of ways you can contribute to a team win. It’s not always about offense. Sometimes saving runs is as important as scoring runs.”

This is also the third time in the last four seasons that the Yankees have won multiple Gold Glove Awards; Teixeira and shortstop Derek Jeter both won awards in 2009, and Jeter, Cano, and Teixeira all won in 2010.

Between that trio and third baseman Alex Rodriguez, the Yankees’ starting infield now has 14 Gold Gloves, and Eric Chavez, who has spent the last two years with the Yankees backing up Rodriguez and Teixeira, is himself a six-time winner as well.

Yankees catcher Russell Martin was one of four finalists for the AL Award behind the plate, but the Gold Glove went to Baltimore’s Matt Wieters.

Joining Teixeira, Cano, and Wieters as AL winners were: Baltimore shortstop J.J. Hardy, Texas third baseman Adrian Beltre, Kansas City left fielder Alex Gordon, Baltimore center fielder Adam Jones, Oakland right fielder Josh Reddick, and pitchers Jeremy Hellickson of Tampa Bay and Jake Peavy of the Chicago White Sox; Hellickson and Peavy tied for the award at pitcher, marking the first tie in the voting since 2007.

Third baseman David Wright was the Mets’ lone finalist on the National League side, but the NL Gold Glove at the hot corner went to San Diego’s Chase Headley.

Rawlings, which sponsors the Gold Glove Awards, will also award a Platinum Glove to the best defensive player in each league. That player will be chosen from the list of Gold Glove winners, and will be determined by fan voting at

Follow Lou DiPietro on Twitter: @LouDiPietroYES comments