Three Yankees named Gold Glove finalists

10/29/2012 2:37 PM ET
By Lou DiPietro
Rawlings has released its list of finalists for the 2012 MLB Gold Glove Awards, and a trio of Yankees made the cut: first baseman Mark Teixeira, second baseman Robinson Cano, and catcher Russell Martin.

Teixeira has won four career Gold Gloves, two with the Yankees (2009 and 2010) and two with Texas (2005 and 2006). He is a finalist at first base along with the 2011 AL winner, Boston’s Adrian Gonzalez (who is now in the National League), and Kansas City’s Eric Hosmer.

Cano was the 2010 winner at second base, and he is a finalist in 2012 along with the 2011 winner, Boston’s Dustin Pedroia, and Seattle’s Dustin Ackley.

Martin won the 2007 NL Gold Glove while with the Dodgers, and he is one of four backstops on the short list of finalists for the 2012 AL award; his competition includes the 2011 winner, Baltimore’s Matt Wieters, as well as Detroit’s Alex Avila and A.J. Pierzynski of the Chicago White Sox.

The Rawlings Gold Glove Awards honor the best individual fielding performances at each position in the American League and National League, as voted by Major League managers and coaches. The winners will be announced on Tuesday night.

Follow Lou DiPietro on Twitter: @LouDiPietroYES comments