Cano announces AL Home Run Derby team

07/02/2012 6:35 PM ET
By Lou DiPietro

Robinson Cano named his home run derby team Monday.(AP)
Captain Robinson Cano’s American League squad for the 2012 Home Run Derby will include Toronto’s Jose Bautista, Detroit’s Prince Fielder, and Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim slugger Mark Trumbo.

Cano made the announcement of his three picks late Monday afternoon, saying that “I have Trumbo, I have Fielder, and I have Bautista” after joking that his first pick was going to be teammate Derek Jeter.

“My first pick this year is Derek Jeter … nah, just kidding, you guys,” Cano chuckled, adding that “there are a lot of guys who had good numbers, but I picked three guys who I think can help me win the Derby.”

Cano said he chose Fielder, who will be in his fifth Derby, because the Tigers first baseman “has had a lot of success in the Derby before.” Fielder has just 12 homers this season, but he was the captain of the NL squad last year and defeated Texas’ Nelson Cruz to win the Derby in 2009.

Bautista, who will be in his second Derby, hit four as part of the AL squad last year. Bautista has led the American League in home runs in each of the last two seasons (with 54 in 2010 and 43 in 2011), and as of Monday, he was this year’s AL leader with 26.

Trumbo, who will be in his first Derby, has 20 home runs and is tied with Cano for seventh in the AL.

Cano had previously said that he would consider selecting a member of the host Kansas City Royals for his squad, but he ultimately passed on selecting Royals DH Billy Butler (16 homers as of Monday). Others, such as Texas slugger Josh Hamilton (second in the AL with 25) and last year’s AL Captain, David Ortiz (sixth in the league with 21), had asked to take their names out of consideration.

NL captain Matt Kemp of the Dodgers had announced his foursome, which includes St. Louis’ Carlos Beltran, Colorado’s Carlos Gonzalez, Miami’s Giancarlo Stanton, on Sunday.

The 2012 Home Run Derby will be held on Monday, July 9, one night before the 2012 MLB All-Star Game, at Kauffman Stadium in Kansas City.

Follow Lou DiPietro on Twitter: @LouDiPietroYES comments