Three Tampa Yankees named FSL All-Stars

06/01/2012 4:29 PM ET
By Lou DiPietro
The Florida State League All-Star teams were announced Friday, and three "Baby Bombers" will represent the Tampa Yankees as part of the North Team in the Advanced-A League’s version of the Mid-Summer Classic: pitcher Mark Montgomery, outfielder Rob Segedin, and catcher J.R. Murphy.

Montgomery, an 11th round pick by the Yankees in 2011, was one of 10 hurlers selected after a stellar first half. Through the end of May, the 21-year-old righty is 4-1 with a 1.35 ERA, eight saves, and 43 strikeouts in just 26 2/3 innings pitched over 19 appearances.

Segedin, a 2010 third-round pick who just converted full-time to the outfield in 2012, was hitting .287 with six homers and 30 RBI through May 31, putting him in the league’s Top 10 in the latter two categories. Murphy, meanwhile, is having a tough season at the plate, hitting just .235 so far, but his defensive prowess earned him an All-Star nod for the second straight year (he was a South Atlantic League All-Star while at Charleston in 2011).

The North Team, which contains representatives from Brevard County, Clearwater, Daytona, Dunedin, Lakeland, and Tampa, will be led by Daytona Cubs skipper Brian Harper and his staff.

The South Team, meanwhile, will be managed by St. Lucie Mets boss Ryan Ellis and contains seven Mets prospects as well as Bradenton Marauders RHP Gerrit Cole – who was a 2008 first-round pick of the Yankees but chose to attend UCLA instead and later drafted No. 1 overall by the Pirates in 2011.

The Florida State League All-Star Game will be held on Saturday, June 16, at Charlotte Sports Park in Port Charlotte, Fla.

Follow Lou DiPietro on Twitter: @LouDiPietroYES comments